Desert Islands

I wish
to blame someone
anyone
for my lack of direction
and sense of
purpose
in this life.

I wish
to point my
fingers at my parents
and scream
“Look at what you made to me!”

I wish
to pinpoint every
source of pain and
blame, blame, blame
each of them for
all the weight I
now carry.

But you see, that
is not how
life works.

There is nobody out
there to blame.
Nobody out there
to carry you
home.

The simple fact
rings a simple
truth:
“We are alone in the world.”

 

Leave a comment

