Beauty Review: Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner

Hello everyone! Today’s blog post is a review on one of the most popular products from Etude House: the Wonder Pore Freshner 10 in 1.

It has always been a strange fascination of mine how Koreans have come up with a name for their toners: Skin, Freshner, Booster. When I was first starting out in K-beauty, I was so mixed up by these unfamiliar labels. But now I that I know of them (thanks to a few research), I want to pass on this piece of information to other beauty beginners.

Skin, Freshner and Booster are names that similarly refer to toner. Toners are part of the beauty routine especially designed to remove any excess oil or dirt which may have been left out from foam cleansing.

I purchased my Wonder Pore Freshner from Althea Korea as part of my first ever haul from the site. Back then, I had a pretty difficult time deciding which toner to get because there were a lot of toners to choose from. In the end, I settled for Etude House Wonder Pore Toner just because it was the one most especially designed to target oily skin.

Let’s head over to the review.

Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner

etude house wonder pore freshner product image

Product Description

The Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner is a total solution skincare product that targets to deliver these 10 claims:

1.Balance skin’s ideal pH level
2.Refine skin tone
3.Keep the elasticity of pores
4.Remove skin surface’s dead skin cells
5.Cleanse pore insides with cooling effect
6. Deep cleanse pore
7. Minimize appearance of pores
8. Control a large amount of sebum
9. Moisture inside and outside of skin
10.Complete smooth glass-like texture

Usage Instruction

Apply an ample amount of Wonder Pore Freshner onto a piece of cotton pad. Gently wipe the cotton pad all over the face in a circular motion, avoiding the eye area.

Ingredients

etude house wonder pore freshner product image product ingredients

Quantity | Price | Availability

250 ml | PHP 440 | Althea Korea

Introducing Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner 10 in 1: The Wonder Woman for your Pores!

etude-house-wonder-pore-freshner-01

The Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner comes in a sturdy packaging designed with adorable illustrations.

etude-house-wonder-pore-freshner-02

The product information is written in Korean and in English.

etude-house-wonder-pore-freshner-03

The container has a tiny nozzle and a cap opening for easy dispensing. However, the 500ml version of this product comes in a pump dispenser which I think is a lot easier to use than this flip-top bottle.

etude-house-wonder-pore-freshner-04

I have used up about 1/4 of the product, and already I can tell that it is quite a good toner. Although I would not go as far as saying that it is the best toner out there, it still deserves a lot of recognition for its decent performance.

etude-house-wonder-pore-freshner-06

I have evaluated Wonder Pore Freshner’s 10 wonder claims and given a grade to each one of them according to how well the product served its purpose based on my personal experience and usage.

1.Balance skin’s ideal pH level
I think I shall skip this claim for now because I haven’t tried running a pH test on my skin just yet. From what I gathered from other beauty bloggers, this product is around 4.5 on a litmus test.

2.Refine the skin tone
My skin definitely feels a bit smoother after a few weeks of using this product. 5/5

3.Keeps the elasticity of pores
As far as I can tell, it does tighten the pores a little bit right after every use. 4/5

4.Remove skin surface’s dead skin cell
Yes, it does an extra job of exfoliating my skin gently. 5/5

5.Cleanse pore inside with a cooling effect
Yes, it does a great job of removing excess oil and sebum, leaving my skin clean and refreshed. I also like the subtle scent of this product. At first, I thought it was going to reek of peppermint but actually there is nothing too strong or minty about it, just a fresh clean scent. 5/5

6.Deep cleanse pores
It does lift up dirt from pores but nothing too magical. Unfortunately, the pores are simply too hard to clean completely. 4/5

7.Minimize appearance of pores
My pores does shrink a little bit right after every use. 4/5

8.Control a large amount of sebum
Yes, my face feels a lot less sticky right after every use. But it only last for quite some time, after which I start to ridiculously oil up again. 4/5

9. Moisture inside and outside of skin
Despite having a high alcohol content, surprisingly this toner is not drying at all. After use, it leaves the skin feeling clean and nourished. However, I still recommend using a moisturizer after toning to bring back that extra moisture to the skin. 4/5

10.Complete smooth glass-like texture
Glass-like? I doubt this is ever going to happen to my skin just by using this toner! Although I don’t think it will ever come to a point where my skin’s going to feel completely smooth as glass, it’s fair to say that the Wonder Pore Freshner does a lot of help in improving my skin condition, most especially when it comes to oil control. 3/5

etude-house-wonder-pore-freshner-07

Ratings

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
4 out of 5 stars

What I like:

  • It performs most of its claims very well.
  • It leaves the skin with a cool refreshing feeling after every use.
  • It comes in an easy-to-dispense packaging, though I still prefer the pump bottle.

What I don’t like:
I am personally put off by the high alcohol content. But thankfully, I haven’t experienced any irritation from using the Wonder Pore Freshner.

Will I repurchase?
Probably at some point. I find this toner pretty okay, but because of the high alcohol content, I am still on the search for an equally effective toner but with less artificial ingredients.

Will I recommend?
Yes! I recommend the Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner to those who have ridiculously oily skin like me, as it really helps in controlling sebum and reducing the greasy sticky feeling. But for those with sensitive skin, you might want to skip this toner and look for other alternatives because the high alcohol content might aggravate your skin condition.

I am not paid or compensated to write this review. All opinions expressed in this post are my own. All items featured in this post are purchased through my own means.

That is all for today’s blog post.
See you again in the next one.

Thank you for dropping by! 💕wander-summer-blog-signature

One thought on “Beauty Review: Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner

Leave a comment

