Wander Weekly 05: Exploring a New Musical Terrain

I know it has been months since the last time I wrote for the Wander Weekly series in my blog. When I first started this series, I promised I would publish at least two chapters every month, but somewhere down the road I swept that promise under the rug and decided to confine my mindless musings within the frayed yellowing pages of my tattered journal. 

That being said, I have something a bit more interesting to share. I am going to share two of the albums that I am currently exploring these days. I am a huge fan of indie rock as well as progressive rock, but my inclination towards post rock comes as no surprise to me at all as I find this genre a beautiful creation on its own fueled by a passionate stream of heavy rhythm and tenacious slow burn.

oh hiroshima

In Silence We Yearn (2015)
by Oh Hiroshima

In Silence We Yearn is a perfect blend of rich musicality and creative visualization. Powered by airy arctic vocals and thick texturizing guitars, the album creates a kind of exploration which transforms the listener to a wanderer and takes him to a long cosmic odyssey in search of silence, and finally returns him beaten with bliss.

we lost the sea

Departure Songs (2015)
by We Lost the Sea

Departure Songs takes its inspiration from the tragic stories of people across history. The five melodramatic songs in this album are both a celebration of the extraordinary feat of human will and determination as well as a tribute to those witnesses of the appalling horror of catastrophe which unfolds before us every single day.

As the artists put it, this album is a tribute and a catharsis of emotion and honesty. True enough, the range of human emotions embedded in the album extends from the absolute tipping point of bliss to the absolute tipping point of torment, each becoming ever stronger with every single note.

This instrumental album is a wordless attempt to recreate expression by means of translating meaning to melody and to communicate the message through the cosmic language that is music.

I am going to leave a link to the artists’ official websites here in case you might be interested to check them out.

In Silence We Yearn (2015)
by Oh Hiroshima

Departure Songs
by We Lost the Sea

2 thoughts on “Wander Weekly 05: Exploring a New Musical Terrain

Leave a comment

