Beauty Bytes: Faux the Love of Flat Lays

One of my ultimate struggles in beauty blogging is finding the perfect background for my flat lays. I always have hell of a hard time choosing what color complements my subject or what fabric goes well with a particular product. 

In the end, I always resort to the safest option: a plain white background. However, plain background can get a little boring sometimes. Plus, I find it difficult to maintain the pure white color of the cardboard which I use for my background. The one I am currently using these days is tainted a little bit, hence the background doesn’t register in the photos as beautifully and neatly as much as I wish to.

So to finally put a period to this recurrent dilemma, I decided to get myself these notoriously popular fabric for flay lays.

I present to you my first ever faux fur haha.

faux-fur-flat-lay 01

I initially picked white and old rose for my faux fur. However, the next day after I placed my order, the shop added light pink to their selection. I didn’t think twice and reached out to the seller pronto to ask if she can switch one of my faux fur to light pink. Thankfully, she consented.

faux-fur-flat-lay 02

What I really like about these faux fur is that they are very light and soft to the touch. However, they slightly shed which I believe is pretty normal for any faux fur. I  try to handle them carefully as much as I can to prevent any further shedding.

faux-fur-flat-lay 03

I know I still need lots of practice for my product photography, but I am glad that I have one less problem now that I have a new flat lay background.

Are you into flat lays too? What’s your favorite flat lay background? Share your thoughts in the comment section below.

That is all for today’s blog post.
See you again in the next one.

Thank you for dropping by! 💕wander-summer-blog-signature

 

21 thoughts on “Beauty Bytes: Faux the Love of Flat Lays

  1. Omg so prettyyyyy 😍
    And YAS! But I’m still struggling. It’s tough to find a perf flatlay, but I tend to go with a white one so it doesn’t looks messy with the products as I’m not really good in taking photos ㅠㅠ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank youuuu! Yes, white is always a safe choice for flat lays ’cause it looks neat and it allows the products to stand out in pictures. With more practice, I’m sure we can take better photos. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man, I’m so lazy, I have no presentation. I just lay out what products I’m using on the bathroom counter and try to take a pic without too much glare – which is hard, because all the light comes in from the skylight directly above! But I have no better place to take pictures…. Someday I’ll master the flatlay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh yes! Flat lays take so much energy. I always get so downright exhausted right after taking photos. Plus, getting the right lighting is no easy feat too.

      I wish you the best for your flat lays! 💕

      Like

Leave a comment

