Beauty Review: Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream SPF 36 PA ++

Sunscreens take the topmost spot in the list of my skincare essentials. I can go outside and get on with my day without anything on my face except for a layer or two of my favorite sunscreen.

Some people have Britney Spears as their god. I have sunscreen as my religion haha.

Some of my all-time favorite sunscreens are from local and foreign brands. However I wanted to explore my options and to test out new sunscreens, so I looked out for interesting sunscreens in the K-Beauty world and decided to pick up the one from Skinfood.

WHAT TO READ NEXT: Beauty Bytes: My Sunscreen Essentials

I got this sunscreen from my Althea Korea haul last month. The choice was not easy as I felt torn between getting the Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream and the Innisfree No Sebum Daily UV Protection Cream. In the end, I went for the Tomato Sun Cream.

WHAT TO READ NEXT: Beauty Haul: Unboxing my May Haul from Althea Korea

I’ve been using the Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream for about a month now and today I am excited to share with you my thoughts about this product.

Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream SPF 36 PA ++

skinfood tomato sun cream product image

Product Description

This sun cream contains tomato extract and protects skin against both UVA and UVB.

Usage Instruction

After basic skincare, squeeze out a small amount onto hands and apply evenly to face, avoiding the eye area.  Apply at least 15-20 minutes before sun exposure.

Ingredients

ssss

Quantity | Price | Availability

50 ml | PHP 330 | Althea Korea

I really like everything from the Skinfood tomato line, most especially the emulsion and the sleeping pack, and this preference is the primary reason why I picked up this sunscreen. However, I kinda regretted this decision the moment I realized it only has moderate UVA protection. But instead of beating myself up for picking an average sunscreen, I let myself into the brand new experience of trying out something new and interesting.

tomato sun cream review 00

The Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream comes in a simple matte squeeze tube with a twist cap.

tomato sun cream review 01tomato sun cream review 02

The product information is written in Korean and in English.

tomato sun cream review 03tomato sun cream review 04

The container has a nozzle at the mouth of the tube that is useful for controlling the amount of product to dispense.

The sunscreen comes in a milky white cream. It has a slightly thick but a bit runny consistency.  Just like the other products from the Tomato line, this sunscreen doesn’t smell quite like tomatoes at all but more like something in between citrus and floral notes. The scent comes off as a bit overpowering at first but thankfully, the scent doesn’t linger for too long.

tomato sun cream review 12

One thing to expect from physical sunscreens is the white cast they leave on the skin. The Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream is no exception at that, as it does leave a noticeable white cast.

Moreover, due to its tacky texture, it can be quite a task to blend the product evenly without pulling or tugging your skin. You also need to work your hands really quickly and to spread the sun cream very well before it settles into an uneven island of white patches on your face. When blended properly, it sits well under minimal makeup and it wears just fine beneath BB cream or foundation.

As for the sun protection, it certainly helps in keeping my skin from darkening. My skin turns into a flaming red color whenever I stay out in the sun for too long. But with this sun cream, my face looks less flushed at the end of the day.

tomato sun cream review 11

I allowed some time for the product to be fully absorbed by my skin. Once it settled, my skin looked brighter and lighter. The sunscreen also left a bit of a dewy finish and a slightly sticky feeling which although I wasn’t too bothered with, still felt slightly uncomfortable on my skin.

tomato sun cream review 10

Ratings

⭐️⭐️⭐️
3.5 out of 5 stars

What I like:

  • This sun cream provides an instant brightening effect on my skin and makes my skin look more glowy and healthy.
  • It is effective in preventing skin darkening.

What I don’t like:
I am not much of a fan of the slightly dewy finish it leaves on my skin. The finish certainly doesn’t suit the terribly humid weather we have here. But on some occasions when my skin is drier and paler than usual, I get to appreciate the subtle dewy finish of this sun cream.

Will I repurchase?
Probably at some point. I am really set to try out more K-Beauty sunscreens in the future. Any recommendations?

Will I recommend?
Yes, but only to those with normal to combination skin. I think the Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream is pretty okay and is good for those who are looking for an effective brightening sunscreen. I have combi skin and I honestly don’t mind all that much the subtle dewy finish and the sticky feeling it leaves. However, those with oily skin might want to take this sunscreen carefully.

I am not paid or compensated to write this review. All opinions expressed in this post are my own. All items featured in this post are purchased through my own means.

That is all for today’s blog post.
See you again in the next one.

Thank you for dropping by! 💕wander-summer-blog-signature

8 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Skinfood Tomato Sun Cream SPF 36 PA ++

  1. Thanks for the thorough review. I’ve been looking into going more towards the K-beauty or Asian sunscreen products lately, and seen this one come up a few times. I like that you included how it wears under makeup because that’s one of the big points of interest for me, since I often wear makeup and I’m trying to get better/more religious on using sunscreen every day. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome. Yes, this sunscreen is quite popular in the K-Beauty scene.

      While I don’t exactly discourage you for trying out this sunscreen, I think there are plenty of better ones out there in terms of UV protection and performance under makeup.

      But still, I think this is a decent sunscreen and it does pretty much what it says in the label.

      Good luck in finding your best K-Beauty sunscreen. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here. This is my first time to come across a tomato-based sunscreen too. So interesting!

      The packaging is minimal and simple which is a good thing. Plus, it is pretty compact and travel-friendly too. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds interesting! SPF 36 is not too bad since as far as I know, SPF 50 only protects like 1 percent more than SPF 30. 🙂 I recommend Missha’s All Around Safe Block Sebum Zero Sun SPF50, it’s my current favorite sun screen for the face.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

