The Book Blogger Test

A few weeks ago, I was nominated by Jess to do the Book Blogger Test. She shares her fun adventures and writes a lot of interesting things on her blog. My current favorite is her blog post on the future of content creators. Make sure to check her lovely blog.

BLOG RULES:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  • Answer the ten questions asked on this post.
  • Nominate at least five people to do the tag.
  • Let your nominees know you nominated them.

BLOGGER QUESTIONS:

1. What are your top 3 book pet peeves?

  • Long introductions from editors or translators.
    I perfectly understand that an introduction or a preface is essential in creating a context for the book. However, it just drives me insane sometimes when I see an intro taking up the first 20 pages of a book. I always end up skipping the intro and jumping straight into the first chapter like the impatient human that I am.
  • Missing pages.
    I still can’t forget that one time I was deep into reading The Bell Jar and realizing halfway through that my copy was missing a few pages. I  searched online for a PDF version of the novel in order to read the missing ones in my book.
  • Ugly book covers.
    What counts as an ugly book cover is a matter of subjective judgement. As for me, I prefer artsy creative covers.

2. Describe your favorite reading spot.
I don’t have any special place in the house for my reading sessions. I just read on the bed or on the couch or on the floor, or wherever it is quiet and comfortable.

3. Tell us 3 book confessions.

  • I don’t like hardbound books. As much as I can, I try to look for the paperback version.
  • I haven’t read Harry Potter, LOTR or Game of Thrones or any of those popular series.
  • Back in high school, I wrote a novel which circulated around the campus. The ending was tragic and made a lot of sophomores cry. I burned the copy right at the end of the school year haha. I consider it to this day as the first ever book I’ve written.

4. When was the last time you cried during reading a book?
It was about a few years ago. I couldn’t exactly tell why but I remember weeping at the end of Lolita. Nabokov is a masterly writer, for sure.

5. How many books are on your bedside table?
I don’t have a bedside table. I always keep my books on the shelves.

6. What’s your favorite snack to eat while you’re reading?
I don’t like eating and reading at the same time for fear of staining my beloved books.

7. Name 3 books you would recommend to anyone.

I love to recommend controversial books to people, so for starters here are my top 3:

  • Beyond Good and Evil by Friedrich Nietzsche
  • Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
  • 1984 by George Orwell

8. Show us a picture of your favorite book on your bookshelf.

9. Describe how much books mean to you in just 3 words.
Meta space-time manipulation. For me, every book I have read does exactly that: defy the conventional reality of space and time.

10. What is your biggest reading secret?
I don’t have any.

MY NOMINEES:

That is all for today’s blog post.
See you again in the next one.

Thank you for dropping by! 💕wander-summer-blog-signature

21 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Test

  1. I can definitely agree that hardbacks are definitely not as comfortable to read as paperbacks! I really enjoyed reading this post! And I also love your photography!

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for doing the tag! I loved reading your answers, it’s interesting because I’ve had a lot of recommendations to read 1984 recently (I have read it 😉 ) – Maybe it’s got something to do with the current political climate? And I’m so impressed, you wrote a novel in high school?!

    Like

    1. Oh god Jess! My comment is long overdue but here it is haha.

      Thank you for the nomination. I really loved answering each question. Yes, more people are turning to 1984 now and it’s so disturbing to see the resemblance of our present society with that of the dystopian society described in the novel.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! It’s very interesting to compare the direction our society is heading in with these dystopian societies, let’s hope that people come to their senses soon…

        Like

  3. Cool tag! I prefer paperbacks to hardbacks if they are available too 🙂 I haven’t read the popular series either, LOTR and GOT don’t really interest me but I’ve read a few Harry Potter books.

    Like

  4. What a fun tag. I definitely hate missing pages as well, it’s the worst! But I do confess that I love to eat while reading – even at the risk of staining the books :O

    Kathrin

    Like

    1. Missing pages is a total nightmare for every reader. I’m sure a little stain here and there is totally fine. In fact, sometimes it adds to the appeal of the book. Like when I buy books from thrift stores and see coffee stains on the pages, I couldn’t help but imagine its previous owner and wonder just how many cups of coffee he has to gulp down in order to stay awake to finish the book haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

